Contact: Lynn Stewart or Amy Boltinghouse, Centenary News Service, 318-869-5120 or 869-5709

Advanced Leadership Conference Marks 10th Anniversary of Centenary Event

SHREVEPORT, LA -- For the past nine years, Centenary College's Frost School of Business has invited a cross-section of area leaders to campus for a Leadership Conference and luncheon.

This year, a group of previous participants will be back for the 10th anniversary event -- an Advanced Leadership Workshop -- to be held on Tuesday, Nov. 3. "We will be focusing on the learning skills that will make us a more effective city," said Dr. Barrie Richardson, dean of the Frost School of Business. "This will be a working, interactive session traditionally held on Election Day, which is appropriate because we will be thinking about leadership for the city."

The workshop will begin at 8 a.m. and conclude at 1 p.m. in the Kilpatrick Auditorium.. Leading the workshop will be Dr. Bob Brewer, adjunct professor at Centenary and a nationally recognized leadership trainer.

Over the years, the conference has had three goals, Richardson said. "We want to develop and improve existing leadership skills, to network and to produce collective and individual inspiration." Numerous projects have been initiated or enhanced following the Leadership Conference at Centenary. Organizers point to the AT&T statewide literacy program, the Red River Hot-Air Balloon Rally, Weed and Seed programs, and one participant's organization of 57 Cub Scout troops, among many others.

There are more than 500 who have participated in the Leadership Conference over the past nine years, "many of whom have accepted the call of leadership and have given back to our community the greatest gift -- themselves," Brewer said. "All are grassroots leaders, catalysts for constructive change."

Participants this year include Susan Adams, Ron Anderson, Pam Atchison, Mae Berkel, Matt Brown, Randy Brown, Jim Conerly, Glenda Cooper, Linda Crow, Pat Day, Martha Fitzgerald, Carolyn Flournoy, Bart Gould, Duke Griffey III, Dorothy Gwin, Patti Harper, Louis Hejtmanek, David Henington, Simone Hennessee, Mary Ellen Hoffman, Roy Hurley, Sara Lang, Sarah Luster, Frank May, George Mills Jr., Peggy Newell, Frank Pearce, Sam Peters, Douglas Peterson, Don Pierson, John Porter, Mary Rounds, Dominic Salinas, Tucker Smathers, Ascension Smith, Robert Stroud, Evelyn Valore, Bonnie Watkins, Maxine Welch, Cody White Jr. and Mary Ann Whited.

The annual conference is sponsored by the Frost School of Business with support from the Frost Foundation.

- 30 -