Contact: Lynn Stewart, Shreveport Journalism Foundation, 318-869-5120

Shreveport Journalism Foundation to Award 1999 Scholarships
To Seniors from Centenary College, Louisiana Tech

SHREVEPORT, LA -- The Shreveport Journalism Foundation will award its two annual scholarships Monday, Dec. 20 to students from Centenary College and Louisiana Tech University. The scholarships are named in memory of two well-known Shreveport journalists, Orland Dodson and Kerry Garland.

Angela Gaye Watkins, a Centenary senior from Shreveport, will receive the Kerry Garland Memorial Scholarship. The $1,000 award goes to a college senior from Northwest Louisiana who is majoring in journalism, communications or public relations and who has demonstrated outstanding academic ability, writing skill and journalistic potential.

Ms. Watkins is a communication major at Centenary, where she is circulation manager and staff member of the Conglomerate student newspaper and editor of the Baptist Student Union newsletter. She has worked and/or interned at The (Shreveport) Times, The American Rose Magazine and the Centenary News Service. The daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Phillip Watkins, she is a 1996 graduate of Northwood High School.

April DeShay Prince, a Tech senior from Homer, earned the Orland Dodson Memorial Scholarship, which is also a $1,000 award. It is designated for a college senior from Northwest Louisiana who is majoring in journalism. The recipient must demonstrate outstanding writing ability, academic performance and journalistic potential.

Ms. Prince is a news editor for The Tech Talk student newspaper, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, Gamma Beta Phi honor society, Golden Key honor society and Diamond Darlins baseball support group. She is the daughter of Andy and Shirley Prince and is a 1996 graduate of Homer High School.

The scholarships will be presented by SJF Vice President John Lee of News/Talk 710-KEEL and Country Gold-KWKH, during the foundation's holiday luncheon at 12:30 p.m. Dec. 20 at Ralph and Kacoo's Restaurant, Bossier City.

Members of the Shreveport Journalism Foundation, in addition to Lee, are president, Gregg Trusty of the Caddo Sheriff's Office; secretary-treasurer, Gary Hines of KTBS-TV; past president, Jack Nolan of LSU in Shreveport; and directors, Cindy Smith of Kalmbach Advertising; Ed Duranczyk and Meredith White, both of KSLA-TV; Sonja Bailes and Trey Lankford, both of KTBS-TV; Larry Ramsey of Bell South; Lynn Stewart of Centenary College; Kacee Hargrave, G.K. Trusty Jr. and Don Walker, all of The Times; Eddie Blick of Louisiana Tech; Rosalind Brazel and Michele Sampson, both of KTAL-TV; and Scott McCloud of Southwestern Electric Power Co.

- 30 -