Centenary College Home Centenary News

News Service

2911 Centenary

Post Office
Box 4188


318 869-5120

318 841-7266


Contact: Lynn Stewart, Centenary News Service, 318-869-5120, or
David Henington, Director of Alumni Relations, 318-869-5028

2003 Alumni Banquet Photos

Centenary Alumni Association Announces 2003 Awardees

(Left to right) Dr. Paul Michael Mann, Mrs. Pat Ewing Hendrick and Mrs. Mitzi Lowe Perry, 2003 honorees of the Centenary College of Louisiana Alumni Association. Dr. Mann was inducted into the Alumni Hall of Fame, Mrs. Hendrick received the Honorary Alumna designation and Mrs. Perry received the Alumni Loyalty Award during Spring 2003 Homecoming festivities.

SHREVEPORT, LA —Dr. Paul Michael Mann of Houston, Texas, an eye surgeon and partner with the Mann Berkley Eye Centers, is the 2003 inductee into the Centenary College of Louisiana Alumni Hall of Fame. The award is the highest honor given by the Alumni Association and honors Centenary graduates who have distinguished themselves in their profession and in service to others and the college.

In addition, the Alumni Association also presented its Honorary Alumna designation to Pat Ewing Hendrick, longtime civic leader of Shreveport, La., and its Alumni Loyalty Award to Mitzi Lowe Perry, former educator, actuary and consultant, who was the first woman to serve as president of the Alumni Board.

Hall of Fame: Dr. Michael Mann

A 1963 graduate, Dr. Mann has been a member of the Centenary Board of Trustees since 1991. His Mann Berkeley Eye Centers operates centers in Houston, Austin and Corpus Christi. Dr. Mann serves on the board of the American College of Eye Surgeons and the American Academy of Ophthalmology and is a liaison between the U.S. Congress and the American Academy of Ophthalmology, as well as a editorial board member of Ophthalmology Management.

He is a director of Sterling Bank, the Executive Association of Houston and the Women's Home of Houston. He recently served as president of the Humble Intercontinental Rotary Club and has received numerous recognitions for his service as a Rotarian. He supports the fine arts of Houston, including the Houston Symphony, the Houston Ballet and the Museum of Fine Arts. He and his wife, Carolyn Spaulding Mann, who is a 1965 Centenary alumna, are active members of St. Luke's United Methodist Church of Houston.

Honorary Alumna: Pat Ewing Hendrick

Hononary alumna Mrs. Hendrick, a New Orleans native and Shreveport resident, is a member of the Centenary Board of Trustees and the Women's Endowment Quorum and has been actively involved with the college's annual Scholars Weekend.

She is the daughter of Isabelle Avengo LaFonta Ewing and Robert Ewing Jr., former chairman of the board of the Times Publishing Co., Ltd, Radio Station KWKH, News Star World Publishing Corp., The Monroe News Star and The Monroe Morning World. She served on the boards of directors of Ewing Enterprises and Southfield School and helped to develop the Louisiana State University School of Medicine's Birth Defect Center.

She is also an active member of the First Baptist Church and Shreveport-Bossier Community Renewal.

Alumni Loyalty Award: Mitzi Lowe Perry

Mrs. Perry, a member of the Class of 1955, is a former member of the internationally recognized Centenary College Choir. She served several terms on the Centenary Alumni Board and twice chaired Homecoming celebrations.

She was an acutary and consultant with Werntz and Associate for 26 years and was vice president of the company for 17 years. Prior to that, she was an educator for 13 years in Caddo Parish, serving as the mathematics and science coordinator for two years. She was named Educator of the Year in 1971.

She is an active member of Noel Memorial United Methodist Church.

Gallery Photograph to be Added

Dr. Mann's photograph will join those of each year's honorees in the Centenary Alumni Hall of Fame Gallery in Bynum Commons.

- 30 -