Centenary College Home Centenary News

News Service

2911 Centenary

Post Office
Box 4188


318 869-5120

318 841-7266


Contact: Lynn Stewart, Centenary News Service, 318-869-5120

Candid Photos from Morning Call, Outstanding Teacher Award, President's Excellence Award
Thursday, Feb. 5, 2004, in Anderson Atrium

Mathematics Professor Derrick Head receives the 2004 Outstanding Teacher Award at Centenary College from President Kenneth L. Schwab during Morning Call ceremonies Feb. 5, 2004. The ceremony preceded the College's annual Founders' Day Convocation and Homecoming festivities.


A surprised Professor Head receives applause from his colleagues as he comes forward to accept the Outstanding Teacher Award, the highest faculty award given annually at Centenary. The award is based upon nominations by students, faculty and staff. Provost Darrel Colson made the announcement.


One of two recipients of the President's Excellence Award was Michael Gideon of Facilities Services, who received resounding applause from the audience.


Also receiving the President's Excellence Award and applause was Dr. Kimberly VanHoosier-Carey, director of the Academic Resource Center for Students.


Alumni Bill '47 and Jean Entrikin '49 Harwell view the Centenary "Laurel" presented to Dr. Eugene R. Gregory. Looking on at right is Claire Woodall Hebert, director of planned giving. Dr. Gregory received the Laurel and a 10-year pin in recognition of his outstanding service to the College. Earlier this semester, he announced his resignation and acceptance of a position in Oregon, his home state.


Recognized for 20 years of service to Centenary: Dr. Victoria Lefevers, Department of Health and Exercise Science; Christy Wrenn, Library Services; and Jeannie Clements, Provost's Office.


Fifteen-year service pins went to Dr. Katherine Fell, Development; Randy Walker, Facilities Services; and Sonja Smith, Business Office.


Receiving 10-year service pins: Marcia Alexander, Magale Library; Dr. Robert Bareikis, Department of Ancient and Modern Languages; Dr. Grace Bareikis, Intercultural Affairs; and Dr. Dana Kress, Department of Ancient and Modern Languages.


Another surprise of the day: a chocolate birthday cake for President Kenneth L. Schwab, presented on behalf of the College by Jeannie Clements of the Provost's Office.


SGA President John Rabenhorst, a senior from Baton Rouge, La., rings the historic college bell, signaling the beginning of Morning Call as President Schwab prepares to begin.


- 30 -