Centenary College Home Centenary News

News Service

2911 Centenary

Post Office
Box 4188


318 869-5120

318 841-7266


Contact: Lynn Stewart, Centenary News Service, 318-869-5120

Centenary College Sophomore Jessica Adams Earns Prestigious Goldwater Scholarship

Jessica Adams, Goldwater Scholar

SHREVEPORT, LA — Jessica Adams of Bossier City, a sophomore at Centenary College of Louisiana, is one of 320 students selected from almost 1,100 nationwide to receive a prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.

The scholarship is the premiere undergraduate award in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering, and it often leads its recipients to other distinguished post-graduate fellowship programs.

At Centenary, Ms. Adams is a 4.0 student majoring in biology and minoring in chemistry. She plans to pursue a Ph.D./M.D. with specialization in immunotoxicology and cardiology. She is the daughter of David and Barbara Adams of Bossier City and is a graduate of Parkway High School.

Her two-year Goldwater Scholarship will cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

"This award is a very prestigious one, targeted for students who plan a career in the natural sciences, mathematics or engineering," said Dr. Cynthia Brame, assistant professor of biology and adviser for Ms. Adams's upcoming honors project. "I am delighted that the Goldwater Foundation recognizes Jessica's enormous potential as a researcher and physician, and have confidence in her success."

The Board of Trustees of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation announced the awards and included six students with permanent residences in Louisiana among the recipients. In addition to Ms. Adams, they are Nneamaka B. Agochukwu, a biology major at Louisiana State University; Jonathan R. Bakke, a chemical engineering major, and Erin M. Bowers, a chemistry/molecular biology major, both of Tulane University; Matthew A. Bibee, a physics major at the University of California-San Diego; and Anna M. Westergard, a biology/chemistry major at Northwestern State University.

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established on Nov. 14, 1986. The scholarship program honors the late U.S. Sen. Barry M. Goldwater.

- 30 -