Centenary College Home Centenary News

News Service

2911 Centenary

Post Office
Box 4188


318 869-5120

318 841-7266


Contact: Lynn Stewart, Centenary News Service, 318-869-5120

Centenary College Selects Ciocchetti for Outstanding Teaching Award; Nicoletti, Roberts Receive Research and Excellence Awards

Dr. Chris S. Ciocchetti

SHREVEPORT, LA — Centenary College students and faculty have selected Dr. Christopher S. Ciocchetti for the 2006 Outstanding Teaching Award. The annual selection is determined by a vote of the entire academic community and is given to recognize devotion to excellence in the classroom.

The announcement came today (Thursday, Feb. 2) during Morning Call, the campus event that precedes the annual Founders' Day Convocation in Brown Memorial Chapel.

Dr. Ciocchetti, assistant professor of philosophy, has been a member of the Centenary faculty since 2001 and is the founder of the popular annual Forum series, which examines a different social issue each year.

He holds a B.Phil degree from Cornell College (1995) and an M.A. (1997) and Ph.D. (2000) from the University of Kentucky.

Also honored during Morning Call were Dr. Lisa Nicoletti, associate professor of art, who received the Charlton H. Lyons Faculty Summer Research Award, and Patty Roberts, director of sponsored research, who received the President's Excellence Award.

Founders' Day this year celebrated the 181st anniversary of Centenary College, which was founded in 1825 and is the oldest privately chartered college west of the Mississippi. Centenary is a private, nationally ranked liberal arts institution located in Shreveport, La.

The Founders' Day program included an address by Dr. John Hardt, vice president for academic affairs at Brevard College and a member of the Centenary Class of 1974.

Photographs from Morning Call follow.

Dr. Kenneth L. Schwab presents Centenary's Outstanding Teaching Award to Dr. Christopher S. Cioccetti, assistant professor of philosophy during Morning Call ceremonies.


President Schwab poses with Dr. Lisa Nicoletti, associate professor of art, who received the Charlton H. Lyons Faculty Summer Research Award.


President Schwab with Patty Roberts, director of sponsored research, following the awarding of the President's Excellence Award.


Chris Lavan, president of the Student Government Association, rings the college bell to mark the beginning of Morning Call events in the Moore Student Union Building.





- 30 -