(June 11, 2008)

Contact: David Pratt, Asst A.D./Sports Information Director, 318.869.5092

Centenary College Student-Athletes Named to Winter-Spring Academic All-Summit League Teams

SHREVEPORT, La.— A total of 66 Centenary College student-athletes have been named to the Summit League Conference Academic All-League Teams for the winter and spring seasons. The announcement was made today, and includes athletes from the sports of baseball, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's golf, softball, men's and women's swimming, and men's and women's tennis.

The 66 Centenary members on the winter and spring academic all-league teams join the 37 Ladies and Gents that earned a spot for the fall semester. In all, a total of 103 Centenary student-athletes earned the honor in their respective seasons out of a possible 226 (46 percent) on 15 teams that compete in The Summit League (gymnastics competes in the Midwest Independent Conference).

In order for a student-athlete to be selected to the academic all-league team, he/she must have a 3.00 or better grade-point average in the semester in which they compete, and must be a letterwinner in the sport in which they compete.

The complete list of Centenary student-athletes on the 2007-08 Summit League Winter-Spring Academic All-League Teams are listed below by sport:

Oscar Medellin-Robledo and Maggie Vaughan

Women's Basketball

  • Brittany Barbee
  • Cierra Bush
  • Anne Farrell
  • Leslie Forest
  • Bethany Joseph
  • Sarah Weiler

Men's Basketball

  • Justin Glenn
  • Travis Hill

Women's Swimming

  • Leslie Clampitt
  • Jessica Brown
  • Caitlin Cunningham
  • Beth Geis
  • Alana Gregory
  • Lauren Kloepfer
  • Ruth Litwinowicz
  • Kendra Norman
  • Nicole Turner
  • Maggie Vaughan
  • Lori Von Pingel
  • Leslie Wyatt
  • Melanie Zimmerman

Men's Swimming

  • David Berude
  • John Cefalu
  • Dane Chambers
  • John D'Aquin
  • Ross Gilbert
  • Robert Hendricks
  • Chase Lambert
  • Quinn Larwood
  • David Moss
  • Bryan Myers
  • Dustin Myers

Women's Golf

  • Brittany Blackwell
  • Jessica Garza
  • Chloe Mims
  • Leigh Newton
  • Tracy Williams

Men's Golf

  • Diego Martin
  • Ryan Sparks
  • Mark Weeber
  • Benjamin Williams

Women's Tennis

  • Kate Buchanan
  • Areal Schulman
  • Kayleigh Sullivan

Men's Tennis

  • Jacob Dawson
  • Seva Kostelanetz
  • Gerardo Lozano
  • Oscar Medellin-Robledo
  • Mark Rodgman


  • Haley Bassett
  • Caitlin Cavarra
  • Lauren Highsmith
  • Jennifer Martin
  • Allison McClain
  • Leslie Postles
  • Allison Shepperd
  • Lindsey Virdell
  • Stacy Whitmer
  • Amy Wiedeman
  • Brittany Williams


  • Jason Blilie
  • Aaron Bronson
  • Jared Dysart
  • Timothy Kelleher
  • Justin Kraft
  • Dakota Robinson

About the Summit League

The Summit League is an NCAA Division I college athletic conference which operates primarily in the Midwestern United States, with outlying teams in Louisiana and Utah. Schools in the league include Centenary College of Louisiana; Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne; Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis; University of Missouri-Kansas City; North Dakota State University; Oakland University; Oral Roberts University; South Dakota State University; Southern Utah University; and Western Illinois University. On June 1, 2007, the conference changed its name from the Mid-Continent Conference.

About Centenary College of Louisiana

Centenary College is a private, four-year arts and sciences college affiliated with the United Methodist Church. Founded in 1825, it is the oldest chartered liberal arts college west of the Mississippi River and is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Centenary is one of 16 colleges and universities constituting the Associated Colleges of the South and is regularly rated as one of the top colleges in the South. In 2008 Centenary College celebrates 100 years in Shreveport and Bossier City.