(June 19, 2008)

Contact: David Pratt, Asst A.D./Sports Information Director, 318.869.5092

Centenary Lands 77 on Commissioner's List

SHREVEPORT, La. — The 2007-08 Summit League Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence has been released and 77 Centenary student-athletes from 15 league-sponsored sports have been honored for their academic prowess.

In order for a student-athlete to be selected to the Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence, he/she must carry a 3.00 or better cumulative grade point average, achieve sophomore academic standing at the institution, have used a year of eligibility and be on the squad list in the sport in which he/she is nominated. Transfers, graduate students and junior college graduates must have completed one academic year at the nominating institution. True freshmen, redshirt freshmen, and first-year transfers are not eligible for the award.

The complete list of the Centenary student-athletes on the 2007-08 Summit League Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence follows and includes:

Commissioner\'s List athletes


  • Jason Blilie
  • Aaron Bronson
  • Jared Dysart
  • Joseph Hagen
  • Timothy Kelleher
  • Dakota Robinson

Men's Basketball

  • Travis Hill

Women's Basketball

  • Brittany Barbee
  • Leslie Forest
  • Bethany Joseph

Men's Cross Country

  • Michael Haydel
  • Gerrit Moeller

Women's Cross Country

  • Cecilia Chea
  • Sunny LaGrone
  • Cara Miccoli
  • Jennifer Quillin
  • Lori Von Pingel
  • Alysha Wallace
  • Laura Way

Men's Golf

  • Mark Weeber
  • Matthew Williams

Women's Golf

  • Brittany Blackwell
  • Jessica Garza
  • Leigh Newton

Men's Soccer

  • Osama Buazza
  • Todd Faulkinberry
  • Gabriel Silvas
  • James Speed

Women's Soccer

  • Lauren Cheaney
  • Catherine Donnelly
  • Cori Dullnig
  • Breanne Fletcher
  • Ali Hilsher
  • Mitzi Perkins
  • Stefani Robbs
  • Kristine Weaver


  • Haley Bassett
  • Lauren Highsmith
  • Beth Krysiak
  • Jennifer Martin
  • Allison McClain
  • Leslie Postles
  • Allison Shepperd
  • Stacy Whitmer
  • Brittany Williams

Men's Tennis

  • Jacob Dawson
  • Seva Kostelanetz
  • Gerardo Lozano
  • Mark Rodgman

Women's Tennis

  • Kate Buchanan
  • Jennifer Majchrowicz
  • Kayleigh Sullivan

Men's Swimming

  • John Cefalu
  • Dane Chambers
  • John D'Aquin
    vRoss Gilbert
  • Rustin Green
  • Robert Hendricks
  • Chase Lambert
  • Quinn Larwood
  • Jeffrey Malinovsky
  • David Moss
  • Bryan Myers
  • Dustin Myers
  • Randy Myers

Women's Swimming

  • Jessica Brown
  • Leslie Clampitt
  • Murphy Crain
  • Caitlin Cunningham
  • Beth Geis
  • Alana Gregory
  • Ruth Litwinowicz
  • Kendra Norman
  • Nicole Turner
  • Leslie Wyatt
  • Melanie Zimmerman


  • Lindsay Bekelja

About the Summit League

The Summit League is an NCAA Division I college athletic conference which operates primarily in the Midwestern United States, with outlying teams in Louisiana and Utah. Schools in the league include Centenary College of Louisiana; Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne; Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis; University of Missouri-Kansas City; North Dakota State University; Oakland University; Oral Roberts University; South Dakota State University; Southern Utah University; and Western Illinois University. On June 1, 2007, the conference changed its name from the Mid-Continent Conference.

About Centenary College of Louisiana

Centenary College is a private, four-year arts and sciences college affiliated with the United Methodist Church. Founded in 1825, it is the oldest chartered liberal arts college west of the Mississippi River and is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Centenary is one of 16 colleges and universities constituting the Associated Colleges of the South and is regularly rated as one of the top colleges in the South. In 2008 Centenary College celebrates 100 years in Shreveport and Bossier City.