(December 7, 2009)

Contact: Rick DelaHaya, Centenary News Services, 318.869.5073

Valdez and Rucinski Named to All-LSWA Team

Sophomore Katie Valdez and freshman Allison Rucinksi

HAMMOND, La.— Sophomore Katie Valdez and freshman Allison Rucinksi were among Louisiana's elite to be recognized by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association when they announced the 2009 All-Louisiana Collegiate Women's Soccer Teams.

Valdez was named to the LSWA First Team after leading the Ladies to an 11-6 mark on the season. The Houston native, led the Ladies in all offensive categories, notching career-bests in goals (10), assists (9) and points (29) to earn First Team All-Summit League. She was a dominant force among league leaders, topping the league in shots (90), shots per game (5.00), points per game (1.61), assists (9), and assists per game (0.50). She also finished second in points (29) and third in goals (10) and goals per game (0.56). This season, Valdez had two matches, where she finished with two goals (UT-Brownsville & Southern Utah) and one where she tallied a goal and an assist, which proved to be the game winner (IPFW).

Rucinksi was among the 15 student-athletes representing seven different state institutions who earned All-Louisiana honorable mention honors. Rucinski scored four of her five season goals in the first four games of the season. She tallied one assist against Letourneau after scoring her first collegiate goal. She led Centenary in game winning goals with three and was tied for second on the team with goals (5) and third in points (11) as a true freshman. She also recorded the best SOG percentage (.684) on the team.

2009 LSWA All-Louisiana Women's Soccer Team:

First Team

  • Malorie Rutledge — LSU — MF — Sr. — Sharpsburg, Ga.
  • Melissa Clarke — LSU — MF — Sr. — Norcross, Ga.
  • Natalie Santana — Southeastern La. — MF — Jr. — Cypress, Calif.
  • Maiya Cooper — Southeastern La. — F — Fr. — Hawthorne, Calif.
  • Katie Valdez — Centenary — F — So. — Houston, Texas
  • Alana Clark — McNeese State — MF — Jr. — Tuscon, Ariz.
  • Carlie Banks — LSU — F — Fr. — Peachtree City, Ga.
  • Rachel King — Louisiana Tech — F/MF — So. — O'Fallon, Mo.
  • Chelsea Potts — LSU — D — Sr. — Aurora, Ill.
  • Kiva Gresham — Louisiana Tech — D — Sr. — Aurora, Ill.
  • Lacey Bockhaus — Southeastern La. — GK — So. — San Leandro, Calif.

Player of the Year: Malorie Rutledge, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Allysha Chapman, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Maiya Cooper, Southeastern Louisiana
Coach of the Year: Blake Hornbuckle, Southeastern Louisiana

Honorable Mention:

  • Allison Rucinski, Centenary College
  • Karly Dagys, Southeastern La
  • Chelsea Gibbs, Northwestern State
  • Dana Mayer, Southeastern La
  • Kaity Mattson, Nicholls
  • Candice Wallace, Southeastern La
  • Chelsea Brozgold, Northwestern State
  • Keisha Brown, Nicholls
  • Cayla Chatman, Louisiana-Lafayette
  • Raydan Phillips, Louisiana-Monroe
  • Kyle MacIntosh, Southeastern La
  • Carolyn Noble, Nicholls
  • Alyssa Chapman, LSU
  • Mo Isom, LSU
  • D'Nae Capron, Southern

About Centenary College of Louisiana

Centenary College is a private, four-year arts and sciences college affiliated with the United Methodist Church. Founded in 1825, it is the oldest chartered liberal arts college west of the Mississippi River and is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Centenary is one of 16 colleges and universities constituting the Associated Colleges of the South and has been recognized as "One of the Best 371 Colleges" by the Princeton Review and one of "America's Best Colleges" and one of "America's Best Private Colleges" by Forbes.com. In 2008 Centenary College celebrated 100 years in Shreveport and Bossier City.