(April 23, 2008)

Contact: Rick DelaHaya, Centenary News Services, 318.869.5073

Centenary College Recognizes Outstanding Students During Honors Convocation

SHREVEPORT, La. — Centenary College recognized outstanding students during its annual Honors Convocation Thursday, April 22, in Brown Memorial Chapel. Honorees included recipients of academic department awards as well as those named to honor societies and those receiving campus awards.

"Today is a special day that we set aside and honor those who have accomplished special things and achieved great heights as students at Centenary College," said President David Rowe. "Over the past year as you worked hard and tirelessly, you may have wondered if it was worth it. Today I hope you hear the answer was yes it did. Congratulations to each and every one of you as we as a community celebrate your accomplishments and achievements."

Honorees include:



AED Outstanding Contributions Award Ashley Rawson
Bettina C. Hilman, M.D. Award for Academic Excellence Taylor Torrence


CRC Award in General Chemistry Gerhardt Funk and Matthew Pittman
Outstanding Achievement in Organic Chemistry Award Charles Madden
Chemistry Academic Award Ashley Rawson
Outstanding Achievement in Inorganic Chemistry Award Rebecca McMahen


J. and Nona Trigg Hodges Choir Spirit Award Katie Jones and Andy Osborn
A.C. "Cheesy" Voran Award Rachel McConnell-Switzer
Shannon Brown Award Trevor Stine
Director's Award Christene Paxton

Christian Leadership Center

Christian Leadership Center Seniors Award Hannah Henderson and Kayla Klaus
D. L. Dykes Founder Award for Excellence in Field Education Leah Dark
James Sears Award for Outstanding Contribution to Christian Leadership Center Community Rachel McConnell-Switzer


Escaped Images Dance Scholarship Tamara Mayer


Hallquist Elementary Education Award Alysha Wallace
Vroonland Secondary Education Award Sunny LaGrone


M. T. Brewerton Award for English Libby Bloxon and Colin Miller
Zeak Monroe Buckner Creative Writing Award Allison Tharp
Thomas E., Esther Horton & Stephen T. Victory Scholarship Lea Richmond
P. B. Lindsey Freshman English Award Lea Richmond
Audrey M. Smith Endowed Poetry Award Costas Dafnis

Environment & Society

Pierremont Hills Garden Club Award for Outstanding Environmental Service and Scholarship Malari Coburn

Frost School of Business

Top Accounting Major Award Stephanie Beauvais
Top Business Major Award Stuart Crichton
Top Economics Major Award Quinn Larwood
Top Finance Major Award Jessica Brown
Frost School of Business Leadership Award Matthew Wallace
Wall Street Journal Award Phillip Goodman
Cecil E. Ramey, Jr. Frost School of Business Award Quinn Larwood
Woodrow W. Pate Economics Award Riley Adams, Lauren Highsmith, Noah O'Dell


First Year Experience Outstanding Paper Award Kyle Kraemer


Estwing Award David Moss
Austin Sartin Award John Michael Callen

Health/Exercise Science

Dr. Victoria LeFevers Health and Exercise Science Pre-Allied Health Award Jennifer Pate
Dr. David L. Bedard Health and Exercise Science Award Mark Weeber

History/Political Science

Chris T. and Sue C. Barnette Memorial Award Kelly Dunnigan
Colonial Dames of America, Chapter 6 Outstanding American History Student Award Linda Bird
M. T. Brewerton Award for History Spencer Bostwick and Sarah Savage
Weems, Schimpf, Gilsoul, Haines & Carmouche Pre-Law Award A. J. Scamp
Excellence in Political Science Award Carrie Verbeek


Virginia Carlton Mathematics Award Charles Madden
Minnie Hall Brown and Wiley Bush Brown, Jr. Award Jacob Jennings
John A. Hardin Award Carl Boyet


Shirley Hawn Endowed Music Scholarship Cara Lamb
Frank Carroll Memorial Endowed Scholarship Jennifer DeLancy
Ronald E. Dean Academic Achievement Award Lucy Fliegel
Outstanding Senior Music Major Award Vincent Turregano

Natural Science

Poppy K. Moon Endowed Award Brandi Candler and Kathryn Craigo


Jeffrey Trahan Physics Award Francis J. Petitto


Outstanding Graduate in Psychology Award Tommie Ho
Vroonland Psychology Award Anne Zapczynski

Religious Studies

Epworth Award Marissa Teauseau
Dean R. E. Smith Religious Studies Award Rachel McConnell-Switzer, Rachel Stevens


C. Wright Mills Award Matthew Akins
Dr. W. Ferrell Pledger Honor Award in Sociology Kenneshea Allums and Matthew Akins



Athletic Achievement Award Jessica Brown and Quinn Larwood

Chaplain's Office

Thomas A. Pitt Memorial Award Marissa Teauseau
John M. Warren Award Taylor Gilmour

Intercultural Engagement

International Outreach Award Sarah Savage


Centenary College Student Service Award Jennifer Pate and Matthew Wallace

Residence Life

Resident Assistant of the Year Ashley Lynch


CAB General Board Member of the Year Jessica Hunter
CAB Executive Council Member of the Year Sarah Kuruvilla

Student Life

Teutsch-Riser Award for a Non-Traditional Student Sandy Roach
Student Life Award for Outstanding Senior Contributor Suneera Kompelli, Sunny LaGrone and Cara Miccoli

Nan Christian

Nan Christian Award Wesley Carlisle and Marci McMahen
Faculty-Staff Honorary Maroon Jackets Leslie Cothren, Benny Vaughan
Ray Williams Honorary Maroon Jacket Award Suneera Kompelli
Joy Jeffers Award Cara Miccoli and Andy Osborn
Maroon Jackets 2010-2011 Riley Adams, Madalyn Allen, Anna Andreen, Matt Blanchard, Wesley Carlisle, Talia Crain, Kristin DiGioia, Kelly Dunnigan, Robert Grand, Matthew Keus, Kristy Lopez, Virginia-Kate Mather, Tamara Mayer, Elise McMahen, Marci McMahen, Emily McManus, Clay Mills, Nicole Popp, Katherine Shamburger, Maegan "Meg" Shanks, Ryan Sparks

Student Government Association

SGA Bullet Award Matt Blanchard
Pacesetters Anna Andreen, Mellynn "Faye" Baker, Matt Blanchard, Matt Bumgardner, Drew Burnham, Kristin DiGioia, Michael Jarboe, Michelle Junot, Suneera Kompelli, Sunny LaGrone, Quinn Larwood, Virgina Kate Mather, Cara Miccoli, Aurora Owen, Jennifer Pate, Michael Rafferty, John Ramsey, Ashley Rawson, Brandon Sepulvado, David Williams, Chris Lavan, Mary Sue Rix
Centenary Lady and Centenary Gent Suneera Kompelli and David Williams


Verba J. Schwab Memorial Endowed Leadership Award Mellynn Baker
Ellis H. Brown Leadership Award Quinn Larwood and Cara Miccoli

About Centenary College of Louisiana

Centenary College is a private, four-year arts and sciences college affiliated with the United Methodist Church. Founded in 1825, it is the oldest chartered liberal arts college west of the Mississippi River and is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Centenary is one of 16 colleges and universities constituting the Associated Colleges of the South and has been recognized as "One of the Best 371 Colleges" by the Princeton Review and one of "America's Best Colleges" and one of "America's Best Private Colleges" by Forbes.com. In 2008 Centenary College celebrated 100 years in Shreveport and Bossier City.