(April 11, 2014)

Centenary recognizes outstanding students during Honors Convocation

SHREVEPORT, LA — Centenary College recognized outstanding students during its annual Honors Convocation Thursday, April 10, in Brown Memorial Chapel. Honorees included recipients of academic department and campus awards as well as those named to honor societies.

Lea Hair, President David Rowe, Greg Ewing, and Kaitlyn Frantz pose for a picture following the ceremony



Alpha Chi
Alpha Chi National Honor Society Lauren Beurlot , Brooke Bahlinger , Ashley McHugh, Luke White, Katherine Pitts, Adam Stephens, Emilie Harmeyer, and Alexandra Ross
AED Outstanding Contributions Award Lindsey Fileccia
Bettina C. Hillman Award for Academic Excellence Garrett Whipple
Chemistry Academic Award Michael Free and Lea Hair
CRC Award in General Chemistry Tamara Johnson
Outstanding Achievement in Inorganic Chemistry Faith Clingen
Outstanding Achievement in Organic Chemistry Tierra Range
Hallquist Elementary Education Award Lisa Bigham
Vroonland Secondary Education Award Meighan Brown
Andrey M. Smith Poetry Award Ellen Orr
M. T. Brewerton Award for English Chris Forester and Deon Wadsworth Cantrell
Zeak Monroe Buckner Creative Writing Award Yesenia Vargas
Financial Aid
Mary Sue Rix Award Sarah Hoffnung
Frost School of Business
Cecil E. Ramey, Jr. Frost School of Business Award Gregory Ewing
Sigma Beta Delta Lauren Beurlot, Angelle Devillier, Gregory Ewing, and Bethany Nuttall
Top Business Major Award Bethany Nuttall
Top Economics Major Award Stephen G. Curry
Woodrow W. Pate Economics Award Gemma Zuniga and Ryan O'Donnell
First Year Experience Outstanding Paper Award Benjamin Green
History and Political Science
Chris T. and Sue C. Barnette Memorial Award Laura Deen
Colonial Dames of America, Chapter 6 — Outstanding American History Student Award Jamie Wright
Katherine Slaikeu Nolan Historical Research Award Matt Cravens
Phi Alpha Theta, National History Honor Society 2013-2014 Brooke Bahlinger and Robin Chailland
Weems, Schimpf, Gilsoul, Haines & Carmouche Pre-Law Award Brooke Bahlinger
Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Study of Terrorism Lea Hair
John A. Hardin Award Ronni Hammad
Minnie Hall Brown and Willey Bush Brown, Jr., Award Cody Chalmers
Virginia Carlton Mathematics Award Spencer Nelson
Ronald E. Dean Academic Achievement Award Mary Ellen Kidd
Shirley Hawn Endowed Music Scholarship Kieley Simonsen
Natural Science
Poppy K. Moon Endowed Award Addie Barron
Nu Rho Psi, National Neuroscience Honors Society Taylor Atkinson, Eli Capello, Fortunato Padua, Lexi Ross, and Payton Weidner
L. Hughes Cox Endowed Scholarship Gregory Ewing
Jeffrey Trahan Physics Award Chantel Lee
Outstanding Graduate in Psychology Freddricka Richardson
Vroonland Psychology Award Taylor Atkinson
Religious Studies
Dean R. E. Smith Religious Studies Award Tianna Murphy and Kayla Marion
Theta Alpha Kappa Leadership Award Tianna Murphy
Departmental Honors in Sociology Angie Impson
Dr. W. Ferrell Pledger Honor Award in Sociology Angie Impson
Rob Laha Memorial Award for Excellence in Theater Abigail Dillard


? Athletics

Athletic Achievement Award Jonathan Blount and Robyn Price
CAB General Board Member of the Year Parker Bear and Meghan Sharp
Chaplain's Office
Thomas A. Pitt Memorial Award Sadie Wallace
Christian Leadership Center
Christian Leadership Center Seniors Award Kaitlyn Frantz
D. L. Dykes Founder Award for Excellence in Field Education Abigail Dillard and Mara Cumberland
James Sears Award for Outstanding Contribution to Christian Leadership Center Community Amanda Price and Mariah Pitre
Office of Global Engagement
Grace Baraikis International Outreach Award Tendresse Kapalang-A-Sul
Morgan and Pledger Diversity Advocate Award Keaton Roberson, Ericka Vazquez, and Colin Brineman
Dian Tooke Student Service Award Candace Metoyer and Garrett Whipple
Maroon Jackets
Faculty-Staff Honorary Maroon Jacket Kelly Weeks
Joy Jeffers Award Bethany Nuttall
Ray Williams Honorary Maroon Jacket Award Zoe McSwain
Maroon Jackets 2014-2015 Brooke Bahlinger, Eli Capello, Katie Cornwell, Laura Croteau, Laura Deen, Cavett Feazel, Walker Gamble, Jeremy Hall, Brett Kessel, Mike Labat, Chantel Lee, Nicole Martinez, Ninjia Miles, Ryan O'Donnell, Chelsea Petska, Paige Pritchett, Tierra Range, Miles Robinson, Alexandra Ross, Celia Sobelman, Jamillia Stevenson, Kayla Thonrhill, Yesenia Vargas, and Gemma Zuniga
Ellis H. Brown Leadership Award Gregory Ewing and Lea Hair
Verba J. Schwab Memorial Endowed Leadership Award Kaitlyn Frantz
Residence Life
Allan Todd Memorial Award Chantel Lee
Centenary Lady Maggie Aultman
Centenary Gent Gregory Ewing
Pacesetters Joanna Warren, Ninjia Miles, Cadie Hancock, Chantel Lee, Lea Hair, Zachary Stielper, Laura Croteau, Jamie Wright, Kayla King, Mariah Pitre, Zoe McSwain, Ericka Vazquez , Ryan O'Donnell, Alissa Brown, Lauren Benoit, Amanda Price, Walker Gamble, Cameron Hughes, Dr. Spencer Dew, and Dr. Greg Butcher
SGA Bullet Award Raquel Candal
Student Life
Outstanding Contributions to Student Life Maggie Aultman, Sarah Bradshaw, Hollis Clark, Aaron Martin, Zoe McSwain, Candace Metoyer, Beth Nuttall, Mariah Pitre, Austin Butler, Cameron Hughes, Amanda Price, and Wells-Audrey Russell